Feb. 18, 2014
Bookmark and Share

11 alumni to receive Purdue Agriculture's top award

By Tom Campbell

2014 DAA


The Purdue University College of Agriculture will recognize 11 people from business, government and education with the college's highest honor for their achievements at the middle stages of their careers.

They will receive the Distinguished Agriculture Alumni Award on March 7 in the Purdue Memorial Union North Ballroom at 3:30 p.m. EST. A public reception will precede the ceremony at 2:30 p.m.

The award recognizes mid-career Purdue Agriculture alumni who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments, made significant contributions to their professions or to society in general, and exhibit high potential for future professional growth.

"These 11 people are terrific representatives of what we do so well - prepare students to make a difference," said Jay Akridge, Glenn W. Sample Dean of Purdue Agriculture. "They are businesspeople, educators, scientists and entrepreneurs working in both the public and private sectors, and they are all leaders. We take great pride in our alumni, and these are 11 of our best."

The class of honorees brings to 200 the number of alumni who have received the award since it was created in 1992.

The 2014 honorees are (with Purdue degree information in parentheses):

John Becherer (MS '87) of Chesterfield, Mo., CEO of the United Soybean Board.

Lynda M. Ciuffetti, (PhD '83) of Corvallis, Ore., head of the Oregon State University Department of Botany and Plant Pathology.

Johann (Joe) R. Garwood (BS '78) of Morrow, Ohio, vice president and director of corporate operations for Fulcrum Exploration LLC.  

• Anetra L. Harbor (MS '02, PhD '06) of Rockville, Md., policy analyst at the U.S. Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation Service.

Carl C. Kincaid (BS '99) of Crawfordsville, Ind., principal of Rundell Ernstberger Associates LLC, Indianapolis.

Donald J. Leopold (PhD '84) of Syracuse, N.Y., chair and distinguished teaching professor of the State University of New York Department of Environmental and Forest Biology in the College of Environmental Science and Forestry.

• Maurício Antônio Lopes (MS '89) of Brasília, Brazil, president of Brazilian Agricultural Research Corp.

Coming Thursday, Feb. 20:

Starting Thursday and continuing up to the induction celebration on March 7, ConnectionsNOW! will profile each of the 2014 DAA recipients.

• Nicholas L. Rozzi (BS '97, PhD '01) of Douglassville, Pa., director of global commercialization at Godiva Chocolatier Inc.

• S. Richard Tolman (MS '78) of Chesterfield, Mo., CEO of National Corn Growers Association.

Geoffrey C. Waldbieser (BS '83, MS '85, PhD '89) of Stoneville, Miss., research molecular biologist in the Warmwater Aquaculture Research Unit of the USDA Agricultural Research Service.

• Carla N. Yerkes (BS, 82, MS '85, PhD '95) of Indianapolis, senior research scientist and group leader of Input Traits Biology, Discovery Research, Dow AgroSciences.




ConnectionsNOW! provides the latest news for students, alumni, faculty, staff and friends of Purdue Agriculture. Find out more -->